cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hosted CIM Question

I'm really new to all the payment gateway stuff (but at least I'm a potential new customer!), so please forgive me if my question seems obvious. 

I just discovered the Hosted CIM option, which seems exactly like what I need.  I don't want to have to deal with any of the PCI compliance or SSL, etc..  I'd rather pay Authorize.net to deal with that for me.  But here is my question.  In reading the CIM XML Guide, I found one of the minimum requirements to state:

• The merchant’s website must use https.

But then other parts of the document say things like:  For more secure exchange of information, the API allows you to establish a hosted connection,
where any exchange of information occurs on the Authorize.Net secure servers. 
This statement seems a little contradictory to the minimum requirement listed above.

So in summary, my question boils down to this:  Do I need an SSL certificate if I'm using hosted CIM?

Thanks in advance for any help!

blade
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions