cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How do I receive authorization confimation in real time?

Hi,

I am new to this process, meaning my question is pretty basic.

Objective: To have a payment processed, and receive real time approval at the website to allow the user to be forwarded to a download page for what has been purchased.

It may be that this is so obvious an operation that the question appears more complex than it is.  I just don't understand the terminology used with this API to understand for certain what I need to code to integrate a real time authorization confirmation.

If there is a specific place for me to read, that's great, I'll read it and come back later with any questions I might have.

Best Regards,

Alan

wbc
Contributor
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

So I am responding to my own post in order to provide what was the answer for me as the previous posts didn't really answer my question.

I wanted to know how I receive a real time response to a given transaction, and what I needed to focus my study on.

The answer is Chapter 4 of the SIM Guide, Receipt Options.  More specifically, Receipt Method.  In my opinion, the best method is POST for security reasons, but GET would also work.  These two methods send the transaction results immediately after the customer clicks on the link to return your website.

If they don't click, I'm not yet sure what happens, but Silent Post is also an option that evidently works for SIM, but the documentation in various places on the Authorize.net website suggest it doesn't.

Best Regards,

Alan

View solution in original post

wbc
Contributor
8 REPLIES 8

Addendum to the post:

Regarding "Objective: To have a payment processed, and receive real time approval at the website to allow the user to be forwarded to a download page for what has been purchased."