cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need to implement authorize.net

Okay so im fairly new to software development (8 months)- no experience with API's. I have been tasked to implement authorize.net for our websites. I don't know what to do- I have read the the api reference documentation and sdk stuff on github. I don't know how I can implement any of it, just trying to use the chargecreditcard request but I cant figure out how to pass the login and transaction key, then implement the chargecreditcard request/method. I'm trying to implement this using c# but so confused on what I should. I ideally would like to use the API but don't know how... I did read and watch videos on how API's are meant to be implemented, those made sense but the documentation here doesn't make sense to me. 

muddywaters
3 REPLIES 3

Hi @muddywaters,

Let's take this one step at a time. Warning: I'm going to get a little basic here, but only to make sure that everything is clear.

First off, do you have a developer account for our sandbox? If not, sign up at http://developer.authorize.net/. That gives you your login ID and transaction key to use to send test transactions.

Second, we're assuming basic familiarity with web programming, like how to receive a request from a browser, how to act on whatever's received, and how to send a request to a web server.

Third, it might be important to understand the difference between our API and our SDKs. Our Authorize.Net API is the collection of instructions of what parameters and values to send to our server to cause it to do certain things.