cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

AIM newbie help with sample code!

Hello! 

So I just started getting into payment methods and such and I looked between authorize.net and paypal, and based on the sample code with authorize.net it seems a little easier to me. However, I still have a few questions as I'm new to this industry.

I used and tested the sample code from this site http://developer.authorize.net/downloads/samplecode and tested it with PHP. My question is, if I build a page and pass the variables into the values that is required within the sample code, is that good enough to have a payment system? Also, when I tested the sample code, it outputs a list of values. How do I have it so if the credit card is authorized, the page will be sent somewhere else?

Thanks, hopefully you guys can understand my issue and help me resolve it.

andrewliu
Contributor
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Since you're using PHP,  I might be able to help.

I've never coded in PHP before, so my method might seem a bit strange to those who use it all the time.

On the page where I am getting the transaction result data from AuthNet,  I put this at the end of all the code:

$parsedresponse = parse_api_response($response);
if ("Ok" == $parsedresponse->messages->resultCode) {
	echo "<meta http-equiv=refresh content=0;url=http://www.yourdomainname.com/yourdirectory/yourpage.php?responsecode="
	. urlencode($parsedresponse->messages->resultCode)
	. "yourvariable_1="
	. $_POST["yourvariable_1"]
	. "&yourvariable_2="
	. $_POST["yourvariable_2"]
	. ">";
}

What that does is create a META Refresh on the page that redirects the browser to the specified URL.

In that URL there is 1 variable that is coming from AuthNet's response, and 2 variables that were passed to the page by my own form.

'resultcode' is coming from AuthNet, and we are assuming that the value of that is 'Ok' for this example.