cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Restaurant POS

Hello All,

I'm a developer working on a web-based restaurant POS system. This is my first project handling payments that aren't made online, so I have a ton of questions.

My plan is to basically allow waiters to swipe a card (and get submitted to my server via an ssl secured form), the information will be passed to the authorize.net servers through an API for authorization. My system will then print a receipt with an authorization number on it for a customer to sign. Once a customer signs the receipt and declaires a tip, the waiter will go back to the terminal and enter the tip. My server would then communicate with authorize.net again through API processing the payment.

Mainly, My questions are -

Is authorize.net capable of processing credit card payments at a location?

Will I need guests to sign receipts still?

Which type of API would you recommend to accomplish this?

Would each restaurant have to get their own Authorize.Net account?

Is this even possible?

I might even end up doing two seperate transactions, one for the bill and one for the tip. I heard that most restaurants do all their processing over night in one batch, which I might do as well? - What would you recommend on that?

Thank you for any insight that anyone can provide me, I really appreciate it.

Thanks,

Jon

JonSheppard
16 REPLIES 16

> Is authorize.net capable of processing credit card payments at a location?

Yes. A card present account is required.

> Will I need guests to sign receipts still?

Yes. This is a requirement of the merchant account. Not Authorize.Net.

> Which type of API would you recommend to accomplish this?

I believe AIM would suffice.

> Would each restaurant have to get their own Authorize.Net account? Is this even possible?

Yes. In fact they would each need their own merchant account.